About Composer Competition


 The St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra is proud to present the fourth International Composer Competition. This competition aims to discover talented music creators, establish creative relations with them, contribute to the successful career of young composers in their music’s professional performance, and initiate the creation of new works for the chamber orchestra and their dissemination.

The works of the finalists of the competition will be performed by the St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra in 2024 October 13 nth, at the solemn concert of the laureates of the International Composer Competition at Vilnius City Hall. The concert will be filmed, and broadcast live online. The orchestra will also perform the laureates’ works in the 2024–2025 season concerts.


Vilnius City Municipality St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra, whose artistic director and chief conductor Modestas Barkauskas, honorary conductor Donatas Katkus, is famous for its versatility, professionalism, artistic imagination. The orchestra is a welcome guest in the most famous concert halls of Lithuania and foreign countries. The St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra stands out for its exceptional stylistic versatility: it has earned the reputation as a “baroque orchestra” and a revivalist of rare scores. The orchestra is also a critically acclaimed interpreter of contemporary music. It is also one of the most performing collectives in Lithuania, performing premieres of contemporary Lithuanian and foreign composers.


• Composers from 18 to 40 years of age are invited to participate in the competition.

• Desired duration of works – 5 – 10 minutes.

• Structure – string orchestra (6 – I violins, 5 – II violins, 3 – violas, 3 – cellos, 1 – double basses)

• For the competition can be submitted not performed as well as performed works in 2022-2024. Works participating or had previously participated in other competitions cannot participate in the International St. Christopher Composer Competition.


• One participant can submit a maximum of 3 works.

• Sheet music (score and parts) must be submitted in PDF format without indicating the composer’s name and surname in the score. It is necessary to add a demo of the track in mp3 format. A Word document containing the author’s name, surname, email address, phone number, curriculum vitae, and annotation of the work is attached separately. Sheet music (score and parts, annotation, mp3) has to be sent by email info@kristoforas.lt


• Registration to participate in the competition – until 30.06.2024.

• The deadline for submitting works to the competition – 31.08.2024

• Announcement of works selected by the competition committee – 01.10.2024

• Performance of the laureates’ works in the concert – 13.10.2024


I   place – 1500 Eur

II  place – 900 Eur

III place – 600 Eur

Financial prizes were established by the Vilnius club

Special LMIC Prize

Special orchestra prize


• The works will be judged by a competent jury of composers and music performers.

• The evaluation of works will be anonymous.

• The competition jury may refuse to evaluate works submitted incorrectly or too late according to the set deadlines.

• The Jury’s decision is final and unappealable.

Information about the competition published on St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra website https://www.kristoforas.lt/ and facebook: https://www.facebook.com/svkristoforo